Once – Morris Gleitzman

Felix is hidden in a Catholic orphanage in Poland by his Jewish parents to escape the Nazis. When soldiers come to the orphanage and burn all the books in the library, Felix who is convinced his parents are still alive, runs away to find them. On his journey he witnesses many horrific events and rescues a young girl called Zelda from a fire. Together they flee but are caught up with other Jews being taken to the death camps. Who can save them? Told through the innocent eyes of a young boy this is a very moving story of a terrible time. The story continues in ‘Then’ and ‘Now’.
Recommended age: 11+

Bundy High Library

11 Responses to “Once – Morris Gleitzman”

  1. Kumareshan S Says:

    The book is very interesting and shows the hardships that people went through during the war

  2. Chung L. Says:

    I have learnt a lot from this book. It is a very sad story, I recommend it.

  3. Alicks Says:

    Such a good book- It made me cry!

  4. Brandon Says:

    I like this book, its very sad. It gives you an image on what WW2 was like.

  5. Katie Says:

    I loved this book and I would recommend this to anyone who loved emotion and the way people live in history. If you love this book like I did then you should also read Then and Now

  6. Louisa L. Says:

    Morris Gleitzman is such a great author!
    He creates a very clear image in my mind.
    I would recommend this book to anyone (:

  7. Kun Says:

    This a great book that is sad. I like this book because it is interesting and it’s about the past and its based on a true story.

  8. Alexia Says:

    It made me cry!

  9. Zachary Says:

    This book is a great book! The way that Gleitzman starts every chapter with ‘Once’ really puts into effect the title of the book. A must read in my books!

  10. Charlie Says:

    Once is a good book because it is a sad and adventurous book and one of the characters reminds me of my cousin!

  11. Jasmine C Says:

    This book touches your emotions, and its short but it gets to the point quickly. It clearly describes World War 2. Morris Gleitzman is a great author.


Leave a Reply

