A child called it – Dave Pelzer

This is the story of Dave Pelzer, who was brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother: a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games–games that left him nearly dead. He had to learn how to play his mother’s games in order to survive because she no longer considered him a son, but a slave; and no longer a boy, but an “it.”

Dave’s bed was an old army cot in the basement, and his clothes were torn and raunchy. When his mother allowed him the luxury of food, it was nothing more than spoiled scraps that even the dogs refused to eat. The outside world knew nothing of his living nightmare. He had nothing or no one to turn to, but his dreams kept him alive–dreams of someone taking care of him, loving him and calling him their son.

TS 362.76092 PEL


Young Samurai (series) – Chris Bradford

Young Samurai is an all-punching, all-kicking, action-adventure series.

Stranded in c.17th Japan after his father and crew are slaughtered by ninja pirates, Jack is rescued by the legendary sword master Masamoto Takeshi. Taken to his martial arts school, Jack trains to become a samurai warrior and as the series continues, Jack’s warrior training will be put to the ultimate test.

  1. The way of the warrior (2008)
  2. The way of the sword (2009)
  3. The way of the dragon (2010)
  4. The ring of earth (2010)
  5. The ring of water (2011)

Find out more at Young Samurai


Paranormalcy – Kiersten White

Weird as it is working for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, Evie’s always thought of herself as normal. Sure, her best friend is a mermaid, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see  through paranormals’ glamours, but still – normal.

Only now paranormals are dying, and Evie’s dreams are filled with haunting voices and mysterious prophecies. She soon realises that there may be a link between her abilities and the sudden rash of deaths. Not only that, but she may very well be at the centre of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.

Paranormalcy #1


Halo – Alexandra Adornetto

Nothing much happens in the sleepy town of Venus Cove. But everything changes when three angels, Ivy, Bethany and Gabriel are sent from heaven to protect the town against the gathering forces of darkness. They work hard to conceal their true identity and – most of all – their wings.

But the mission is threatened when the youngest angel, Bethany, is sent to high school and falls for the handsome school captain, Xavier Woods. Will she defy the laws of Heaven by loving him?

Inside a Dog

Impossible – Nancy Werlin

A beautifully wrought modern fairy tale from master storyteller and award-winning American author Nancy Werlin.

Lucy is seventeen when she discovers that she is the latest recipient of a generations-old family curse that requires her to complete three seemingly impossible tasks or risk falling into madness and passing the curse on to the next generation. Unlike her ancestors, though, Lucy has family, friends and love. Is it enough to keep her safe?

Inside a Dog <http://www.insideadog.com.au/books/impossible>

Pretty Little Liars – Sara Shepard

Alison, Aria, Emily, Hanna and Spencer were best friends, until Alison disappeared. Three years later, the remaining girls, now juniors at Rosewood Day, are leading separate, but charmed lives. But in Rosewood, appearances are deceiving, and when the girls start receiving mysterious texts signed by someone named A, the past threatens to ruin their perfect present. A claims to know all of their secrets—but who is A? How much does A really know? And what can four pretty little liars do to protect themselves from the truth?


I am Number Four – Pittacus Lore

Nine teenagers came to Earth from the planet Lorien to escape the evil Mogadorian. Hiding on Earth, while waiting for their extraordinary powers to develop, they look like ordinary teenagers living ordinary lives. They are protected by a charm that means they can only be killed in numeric order. The first three are dead. John Smith is Number Four. And his mortal enemies are hunting him down. He must fight to save himself, the other five, his human friends, and the planet.
The first book in the Lorien Legacies series this is an exciting sci-fi thriller.

Visit the official I Am Number Four book website

I am number four fan site

I am number four video